When Funny Doesn’t Cut It

When I decided on a theme for my blog, I considered parenting, The Bible, music, writing, anti-exercise, and more. One reason I went with humor was because with any other theme, I knew I would eventually find myself puttering around the dark cellar of my depression and generally bringing you, my readers, down with me, and not to my cellar (that would be too social) but to your own cellar, where you would putter around and we wouldn’t even have the benefit of a friendly hug.
I would pick up an old, dusty box and say, “Hey, here’s my loneliness!”
And reading that, you might go down to your cellar to find your loneliness, but I wouldn’t be there to hug you. I’d be logged out, reading, or parenting, and definitely not exercising. Maybe still puttering around my cellar.
“And my fear! Gosh, this one’s hardly dusty at all,” I might write in another post.
I would write about my fears, send them out into the cyberworld and log off, and I bet you wouldn’t have any trouble finding your own box of fears. And I’d be responsible.
So I chose humor.
But today something very unfunny happened in the world. I know that unfunny things happen every day, but this was one we all saw on TV and felt the horror of together. I don’t think any of us is in the mood to be funny. It’s days like today that I wish I would have chosen The Bible as my theme. I just want you to know that this world is not the end of the story. There is a perfect heaven waiting for us, and we get to go if we follow Jesus, no matter the shames of our past. And whether or not we exercised.
Tomorrow maybe I’ll go back to being funny, but for today, friends, I just want to say I love you.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “When Funny Doesn’t Cut It

  1. Aw, Marie. Just beautiful. I love you, too.

  2. You want to know what’s not funny? How seriously talented you are. xo

  3. Becky

    So grateful for the wonderful people in my life, especially my family, for thoughtfulness and empathy, for the way even the worst things can cause connectedness and love to arise, and for the promise of heaven and the comfort of Christ.

Leave a Reply

